What's new

iMessage/SMS on Surface Pro

tsimmons

New guy here, looked through the forum to see if this has already been asked/solved, couldn't find anything so forgive me if it has.
I work in IT support and my company recently bought us Sufrace Pro 4's as an all in one device, minus the cell phone. The Sufrace is great, does nearly everything I want it to, but the one annoying thing is being able to carry it around with me, do everything I need, and still have to continually take my iPhone out of my pocket/holster to read/respond to text messages. Does anyone know of a way to forward/sync text messages from in iPhone to a Windows device without jailbreaking the (company's) phone?

sharpuser

Administrator
Staff member
I would expect that an app would be developed to run on a MacBook, and act as a server, forwarding iMessage items.

hughlle

Super Moderator
Staff member
I doubt it will happen. Apple dont like the notion of people not having to buy their hardware to use their software.

Orlbuckeye

New guy here, looked through the forum to see if this has already been asked/solved, couldn't find anything so forgive me if it has.
I work in IT support and my company recently bought us Sufrace Pro 4's as an all in one device, minus the cell phone. The Sufrace is great, does nearly everything I want it to, but the one annoying thing is being able to carry it around with me, do everything I need, and still have to continually take my iPhone out of my pocket/holster to read/respond to text messages. Does anyone know of a way to forward/sync text messages from in iPhone to a Windows device without jailbreaking the (company's) phone?

Well there are many apps that can do this if you want a separate number which could be convenient. The thing is these apps require Wifi connections. Textnow is one app and you can find a few in the Windows Store. Skype or Viber could also be used.

unknown_soldier