What's new

My Surface Typecover Is Not Working Properly

Zeppelin8555

I have been using my Surface Pro 6 for about 4 years now and this is the second time this has Happened. I got my Surface almost exactly 4 years ago. After about a year and a falf of usage, my original typecover stopped functioning properly and only worked when it was set flat on the table and it would not work if it was propped against the magnetic bottom area of my computer (Please refer to the images on the bottom to get a clearer understanding of what I am trying to say). After about a week and a half of this, the typecover stopped working entirely and after being frustrated after not finding any resources to get help, I decided to get it sent to Microsoft support. They then sent me a brand new exact keyboard which was covered completely by my warranty, which I have been using for the past couple of years.

Fast forward to 3 days ago, my keyboard (which I used to type this up) ran into the exact same issue to its predecessor and doesn't work when propped against my computer again. I'm afraid that my typecover would become completely obsolete awhile again. Is there a fix to this or anything I can do? Fig 1. It doesnt work when my typecover is propped up like this
Surf 1.png

Fig 2. It works when it is placed flat like the image shows.
Surf 2.png

GreyFox7

Super Moderator
Staff member
I have not experienced this although I don't use the typecover a lot. A long time ago I fixed computers for a living.
This sounds to me like the connection is breaking, most likely inside the flexible area of the typecover, once it breaks completely it stops working altogether but currently, it's making a connection when not flexed. In short, it sounds like a physical problem that is not easily repairable if at all.