What's new

Your Advice: Win 8 Pro + Office 365

kristalsoldier

Hi all...

Need your advice so here it goes.

I recently bought a Surface RT. This was/ is my first introduction to Win 8 (albeit RT). I quite like it - even though I don't know too much about it.

I have been using Win 7 Pro (64-bit) for a couple of years now and it's rock stable on my ThinkPad R400. I used to have a X201, which I gave away - long story and won't go into it now.

My R400 has Office 2010 Home and Student version on it, which I have used extensively and which I like.

I used to be a heavy user of Google services - still use Gmail a lot - but am weaning myself away from them especially after having got the Surface. Moving onto Outlook.com, which is not bad at all. Don't like Bing too much though.

I will be able to get Win 8 Pro for a heavily subsidized cost - got to do with my work etc. If the same subsidization works for Office, then I found out that I am eligible to get the Office 365 deal - for 4 years.

So, my question: Should I go ahead and do it? It here being get Win 8 Pro and the Office 365 deal?

When I ran the Upgrade Assistant, it showed that while generally the laptop would be upgradable, there would be some issue - mostly drivers, which I presume will not be too big a problem. My main worry is about Office 365 though. I know very little about it.

I have to decide in about 72 hours and would greatly appreciate your inputs.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:

bosamar

I'm running Office 365 Home Premium at home on my two desktops and a laptop. I love it and have nothing bad to say about it. You can put it on up to 5 PCs.

J515OP

Super Moderator