Possible fix for poor battery?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by thejoker1993, Sep 5, 2014.

  1. thejoker1993

    thejoker1993 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    So I returned my first sp3 i3 because of the horrid yellow streak. Everything was perfect with that machine but that yellow haze. The battery lasted a lot longer than my replacement which was brand new because I returned it for another one. My new i3 does not go into connected standby and as a result my standby battery life is taken a hit. I can't figure out why. I set the replacement one up identical to previous sp3.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I did a reset on mine 3 weeks after I got it. It fixed a lot of problems. Not an ideal recommendation I know, but it just seems that there's a portion of SP3's that come off the assembly line buggy.
     
  3. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Why it does not go to connected standby? Do you have Hyper-V enable?
     
  4. thejoker1993

    thejoker1993 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    No I don't have hyper v enable and don't think the i3 supports that. I did a reset but kept all my files and stuff because I didn't want to reinstall everything. (my windows update screen froze prior to the reset and now it is fix after the reset.) Weird bug.
     
  5. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The i3 supports connected standby. Ok, lets start from the beginning. Why do you think that it does not go to connected standby? If you press the power button, wait one minute and press it again. Does it come on right away or do you see the Surface logo? If it comes on that means it was in Connected Standby.
     
  6. thejoker1993

    thejoker1993 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Well my prior machine, if I left it overnight it would go into a deep sleep. Would take like 8 seconds to come back on. When I left this overnight, it immediately woke up and my battery was drained 18 percent as opposed to 1 percent when the other surface was in a deep sleep.
     
  7. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ok. So it's going to Connected Standby but does not go into deef sleep. I have seen somebody reporting something like that before here. I think that the fix is a refresh.
     
  8. thejoker1993

    thejoker1993 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    We shall see, will post back tmr to see if its fixed.
     
  9. unruledboy

    unruledboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    My Device:
    SPro3
    brightness -> 40%, open task manager and monitor any high cpu consumption processes
     

Share This Page