[Review] Acer W3-810

Discussion in 'Acer Windows Tablets' started by TeknoBlast, Jun 27, 2013.

  1. TeknoBlast
    Offline

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    During my lunch hour, I picked up the Acer W3 Windowstablet. Some of you already know, this is the first 8” Windows tablet with fullWindows 8. It also includes free Office suite, which is nice.

    The casing is not high quality like the Surface or someother but still feels pretty nice. It’s a three-tone device with a grey back,white sides, and black front.

    I picked up the 32GB because I really only wanted it formedia consumption. I’m not going to do real work on it. So after I fired it up,I checked how much space I had left. Well it wasn’t much at all; it only had11.1GB left. However, like most Windows tablets, you can add a micro SD card,which I have one waiting at home.

    Honestly, this device is very snappy for having full Windowsrunning on an Intel Atom with 2GB RAM. There’s no lag or delay between apps.

    I think the W3 is about the size of a Galaxy Tab 2 7.0,maybe slightly longer.

    It’s light weight, but do think it’s a little heavier thanthe Galaxy Tab. The stat sheet states its 1.10lbs.

    If you’re into social networks, there’s a very nice appcalled Social Jogger. This could be an Acer only app, but not sure. You can loginto FB, Twitter, YouTube, and some other network I never heard of.

    It does have a mini-USB port, mini-HDMI port, and a microSDcard port.

    The power cord is pretty short, so you might need a powerstrip if you’re going to charge it while using it in bed.

    For anyone that uses a Surface, you know you can touch the Windows logo to get back to the Start screen….with the W3, there’s a Startbutton on the right side that takes you back to the Start screen. So there’s noaccidental grazing of the logo that takes you to the Start screen.

    Using the W3 is best used indoors or when it’s not so brightoutside. When I was unpacking it inside my car, I notice that the screen hasthat oily type sheen when viewed in an angle. The screen is not top of the line, but stilllooks pretty nice when in the right lit conditions.

    I think that’s about it. If you guys have any questions about the W3, feel free to ask.

    Oh yeah, so if you’re anal about disk space, get the 64GBmodel.
    1 person likes this.
  2. tonyz3
    Offline

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did it come loaded with 8.1 or did you load it on there yet.
  3. TeknoBlast
    Offline

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    No 8.1, just regular Windows 8.
  4. Tom T
    Offline

    Tom T New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I'm waiting for my 64gig model now, unfortunately there is a substitute UPS driver who entered a delivery exception and I have to go pick it up at the warehouse this evening. Looking forward to getting it in my hands.
  5. TeknoBlast
    Offline

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    After a full night of goofing around with the W3, I'm liking it. Sometimes the screen throws me off because at certain angles it has a weird 3D effect. For example, when I have the on-screen keyboard on and I'm looking from a certain angle, the letters pop out to me. I guess it's the quality of the screen. If looking straight on, the screen looks nice.
  6. TeknoBlast
    Offline

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    Just discovered something with the W3. I believe this is because of the size of the screen but you cant snap applications. Maybe this will be fixed in 8.1, but on the current W8, you cant. I'm assuming that the 64GB model will be the same. Not a big deal to me, but I'm sure it is for some that like to snap apps.
  7. tonyz3
    Offline

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep i think that was one of the big features of 8.1 support for smaller screens. Are you going to update to it on the Acer?
  8. TeknoBlast
    Offline

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    No 8.1 for me. I did update my Samsung Ultrabook to 8.1 and it was killing me HD. It was making it run at 100% and because of that, it was causing the system to lock up pretty badly. So I had to reset it to factory. This is why I usually do not mess around with previews. I can wait for the real deal. It's only a few months away.
  9. Tom T
    Offline

    Tom T New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I picked mine up fairly late last night, got it charged and set up, played around with it for a while. I kind of expected the screen to be bad, and it's probably because my expectations were low, but I'm satisfied with it so far. The display isn't going to be an issue for me. The performance is snappy (that's a highly technical term, I know, but I've always been the intellectual type.....). Configured Office and Onenote was able to Sync right up so I'm pretty happy with it so far. For me it is almost instantly useful, and that says a lot.
  10. TeknoBlast
    Offline

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    how much space was left after all the set up? I'm down to 9.3GB after setting up Office. Yeah, the screen is not the best, but still looks nice and bright. As much as I love my Surface Pro, it wasn't great reading the Xbox Magazine app. With this Acer, I read half the magazine last night.
  11. Tom T
    Offline

    Tom T New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I show 29.2 gigs after setting up Office and syncing Onenote, and installing Wordament. I believe after the initial setup I had 32 gigs free. I am curious about the external SD storage, the documentation says 32 gig max but before I install one I'm going to find out if anyone has had any success with 64 gig cards.
  12. TeknoBlast
    Offline

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    I inserted a 16GB card. Pretty much holds my movies and shows.
  13. Tom T
    Offline

    Tom T New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    For the most part I stream from Amazon with my Prime account so local storage is becoming less important.
  14. TeknoBlast
    Offline

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    I went back to Office Depot this morning and bought the Acer W3 case for it. The case is really nice. Doesn't feel cheap at all. Glad I went back.
    1 person likes this.
  15. Tom T
    Offline

    Tom T New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I ordered the case with my tablet, and I like it, pretty light and looks good. I'm really liking this tablet so far. I just installed FB Reader, which runs great even though it hasn't been updated since 2010.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

acer iconia w3 factory reset

,
acer iconia w3 reset
,

acer iconia w3-810 forums

,

acer w3

,

acer w3 factory reset

,

acer w3 forum

,
acer w3 reset
,

acer w3-810 review

,
factory reset acer iconia w3
,

factory reset acer w3-810

,
factory reset w3-810
,
hard reset acer w3
,

how do you reset an acer iconia w3 back to factory settings

,
how to reset acer iconia w3
,
how to restore acer w3
,
how to restore acer w3 factory settings
,

iconia w3-810 hard reset

,

restore acer iconia w3 810 factory settings

,
w3 810 reset
,

w3-810 reset