Surface Pro 4 skipping Broadwell altogether ?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by kevinlevrone, Jan 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kevinlevrone

    kevinlevrone Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Now that CES 2015 has begun, there is plenty of information about the "just-launched" and delayed Intel Broadwell-U.

    I came across this article:

    http://www.pcworld.com/article/2864...to-know-about-intels-new-broadwell-chips.html

    The "thing" number 5 is "No tablets for Broadwell U" and mentions the Surface Pro line. However their arguments are invalid, the Broadwell U has the same TDP as the Haswell U and since Haswell U fits into a tablet, Broadwell can fit too...I'm not sure what to think about this ?

    But my plans are to skip Broadwell for Sky Lake anyway.
     
  2. Nuspieds

    Nuspieds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I can't even imagine an SP4 with a Haswell CPU! :)

    I skipped the SP3 because it uses Haswell; my plan was to skip the SP3 and wait for the new-CPU (Broadwell) SP4.
     
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I think Intel already signaled Skylake would probably ship late Q4 2015 allowing Broadwell to carry 2015 and devices with Skylake not likely to appear until 2016. That will give them time to tweak Skylake even more.
     
  4. kevinlevrone

    kevinlevrone Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Who would even think about this ? It's about Broadwell or Sky Lake.
     
  5. kevinlevrone

    kevinlevrone Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    In fact Sky Lake is very advanced already, as I read in multiple places (including that article). Broadwell arrived very late and it is possible that it will have a very short life (only in new product lines). I'm curious about what Apple will do with the MacBook Air. Their screen resolutions really need an update, so (I suppose) they can't wait until fall with the current line.
     
  6. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Agreed, the article I recall reading was indicating it was not a product readiness decision but marketing decision. Something could happen that accelerates the Skylake release (like the Tegra X1 knocks it out of the park) but it's probably to their advantage to recover Broadwell investment by holding Skylake untill a littler later than releasing ASAP.
     
  7. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
skylake surface
,
skylake surface pro 4
,
surface 4 skylake
,
surface pro 4 broadwell
,
surface pro 4 broadwell or skylake
,
surface pro 4 broadwell skylake
,

surface pro 4 skylake

,
surface pro 4 skylake or broadwell
,
surface pro skylake
,
surface skylake