What's new

Surface Pro USB 3 backwards compatible to USB 2 devices with adapter?

stephaniedlsl

Hello: I am a trainer and the #1 reason I am considering the Surface Pro is the ability to use a tablet, rather than my hefty Thinkpad W510. Much of my material is done using Powerpoint and I have a remote which allows me to walk around the room and just click to advance the slide.

What do you think? Will there be (or is there already) a backwards compatible USB 3 to USB 2 adapter and would it work on the surface pro? For anyone from Microsoft on here -- this would be an essential requirement for professional users who might consider the tablet as a replacement for bulky laptops.

By the way -- I know there is a adapter for USB 2 TO USB 3. I am wondering about the reverse.

Thank you all for helping me solve this question.

Stephanie

dbageek

Hello: I am a trainer and the #1 reason I am considering the Surface Pro is the ability to use a tablet, rather than my hefty Thinkpad W510. Much of my material is done using Powerpoint and I have a remote which allows me to walk around the room and just click to advance the slide.

What do you think? Will there be (or is there already) a backwards compatible USB 3 to USB 2 adapter and would it work on the surface pro? For anyone from Microsoft on here -- this would be an essential requirement for professional users who might consider the tablet as a replacement for bulky laptops.

By the way -- I know there is a adapter for USB 2 TO USB 3. I am wondering about the reverse.

Thank you all for helping me solve this question.

Stephanie

Not quite sure why you think you need an adapter as USB 3.0 ports are backward compatible USB 2.0 devices ... just like 2.0 was backward compatible with 1.0 devices. I have a W510 as well and i can plug any USB 2.0 device into the USB 3.0 ports.

Am i missing something?

OP
S

stephaniedlsl

Humm -- are you sure? I believe the specs I have seen for the Surface Pro show a USB 3.0.