What's new

UK user... Pro at last!

DannyH

Hello All,

I've been viewing this forum for quite a few months now whilst waiting for the Surface pro to "surface" in the UK. I fought against the temptation to get one imported due to warranties and not knowing how the price would swing but bought this from John Lewis the weekend following release.

I have to say I am just as impressed as I hoped I would be and so it seems is everyone else who's attention the device grabs. I just wanted to feed back on some points from reading the forum and using the device:

• Heat - I never really notice this getting too hot, not more so than my iPhone 5
  • Using on my lap - I have tried this and to be honest it works fine for me. Alternatively just use it in tablet mode on your lap!?
  • Screen Tilt - Perfect for me, I am already using this in place of my work laptop
  • Speed - Wow, even from cold boot this thing is ready to go in about 5 seconds, unbelievable
  • Speed 2 - As the flash chip is directly attached to the board it really shows, even x86 apps open instantly
  • Storage - I have a 128GB model and after having a desktop with 1.5 TB I realise that most of what I was storing I didnt need o definitely dont need to be mobile. I am an advocate of the cloud and use Netflix, Spotify and Skydrive to name a few... who needs local storage?

I would like to connect to my speakers, large HD screen and a wireless keyboard and mouse for when doing more serious desk work, which dock do people have experience with? The following looks good to me:

Kensington - Laptop Docking Station with Video & Ethernet sd400v

Hopefully this device will continue to impress.

TeknoBlast