What's new

Video playback quality on surface 2

Imran

Greetings from Kenya!

I've just had my surface 2 for a couple of days now and still trying to get myself familiar with windows 8.1. So far I am loving the device.

My only gripe is that some videos on YouTube seem to look clearer on my blackberry z10 phone than on my surface! I thought that this device was supposed to have one of the best screen resolutions out there?? Or is it a setting that I need to play with? Another thing is that while playing a YouTube video via the website instead of the app, there seem to be glitches coming up if I try to scroll though the video. This causes the video to hang and sometimes crash. Could this be a website issue that I have been reading about on this forum?

Sorry for the "noob" questions but I'm not that tech savvy! I'm just concerned because my Z10 doesn't seem to have any of these issues.

Cheers!

Imran

ctitanic

Video quality depends on many things including perception. The same frame with bad quality in your Surface if it's shown in your phone it will look a lot better because of the smaller size of your phone screen. So comparing two different screen sizes showing the same picture from the same source is not a good example. YouTube reduces the quality according to the internet bandwidth used to access the site. Try a different test, download any application from the Windows Store that allows you to download the videos from youtube and get one the trailers in HD resolution. Once it's in your Surface play it. You will see how good is your Surface playing videos.

If you want to see good video quality, use Netflix or Hulu.

ctitanic

Here is a screenshot taken from Standard Resolution

Screenshot (25).png

And here are some at 1080p

Screenshot (28).png

Screenshot (26).png

And believe me the real life view is a lot better than these screenshots.

Last edited:
OP
I

Imran

ctitanic,