What's new

HowTo How To and Master Help Guide for the Surface Book

Status
Not open for further replies.
OP
sharpuser

sharpuser

Super Moderator
Staff member
Wake Up - Mouse Pointer Gone Missing

If your mouse pointer is missing after waking up your Surface Book from sleep, here's how to get it back:

1. Detach the Clipboard (screen) and physically remove it from the Base Unit (keyboard).
2. Re-attach the Clipboard

This is a workaround until the bug is fixed.
 
OP
sharpuser

sharpuser

Super Moderator
Staff member
Wake Up From Sleep

If your Surface is in sleep mode and won't wake up (screen black, keyboard Caps shift lights up but no wake), try this:
Press power button for 1 second. Release. Repeat.
 

leeshor

Well-Known Member
How to lessen the Edge crashes and make your browsing smoother.

Useing the HOST File method of Ad Blocking with a slight change to the Registry and now Edge works very fast with no Display Crashes on HTML5 Video Ads (like this site).

http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.zip

Once you download that file, extract it anywhere and go into the folder and run mvps.bat as administrator. This will install the hosts file mod and now all known ads and malicious sites will be blocked from your PC. However, there is another step to ensure smooth performance with DNS resolution, as large HOSTS files tend to cause issues with the default settings.

To apply this tweak you need to do the following:

  1. Open Regedit
  2. Navigate to HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\DnsCache\Parameters
  3. Create a new DWORD “MaxCacheTtl” and set the value to 1
  4. Create a new DWORD “MaxNegativeCacheTtl” and set the value to 0
  5. Reboot your PC
Once you have done the above, you will have an effective ad blocking solution that will work across your entire system (including Microsoft’s new browser), and with the added tweak there will not be any performance hit in your browsing experience. Without the added tweak you would notice site loading delays, especially with sites like Hulu etc…

Source: http://www.chris123nt.com/2015/05/05/blocking-ads-with-microsoft-edge-project-spartan/


Credit jnjroach
 
OP
sharpuser

sharpuser

Super Moderator
Staff member
Save yourself some trouble, and perhaps your files, too by enabling Restore Points on your device. This will allow you to revert to how your system was configured before adding software or drivers or changing settings. I create restore points every now and again when all is well.

Former users of Windows 7, Windows XP, Windows Me will probably be happy that Windows 10 also provides this functionality.

Search for "Restore Point".

snip_20151213104423.png
 
OP
sharpuser

sharpuser

Super Moderator
Staff member
To relocate OneDrive files to SD card, etc. :
1) Unlink OneDrive. (Find the Notification Area OneDrive icon, right-click, Settings, Account Tab, Unlink)
2) Exit OneDrive. Verify it is stopped (Find the Notification Area OneDrive icon, right-click, Exit)
3) Copy and paste your OneDrive folder to the destination.
4) Reboot. Start OneDrive (Search, OneDrive). Direct OneDrive to the new location.

OneDrive can take hours to verify that all of your files match the Cloud. It is best to keep a stable and fast Internet connection during the process, because the verification begins again from the start if your connection is broken. You are finished when OneDrive reports "Up to date." in the notification area.
 

leeshor

Well-Known Member
Settings that can have shortcuts on the desktop:

Code:
Account Info: ms-settings:privacy-accountinfo
Airplane Mode: ms-settings:network-airplanemode
Backgrounds: ms-settings:personalization-background
Battery Saver: ms-settings:batterysaver
Bluetooth: ms-settings:bluetooth
Calendar: ms-settings:privacy-calendar
Camera: ms-settings:privacy-webcam
Cellular: ms-settings:network-cellular
Closed Captioning: ms-settings:easeofaccess-closedcaptioning
Colors: ms-settings:personalization-colors
Connected Devices: ms-settings:connecteddevices
Contacts: ms-settings:privacy-contacts
Data Usage: ms-settings:datausage
Date and Time: ms-settings:dateandtime
Dial-Up: ms-settings:network-dialup
DirectAccess: ms-settings:network-directaccess
Display: ms-settings:display
Display: ms-settings:screenrotation
Ethernet: ms-settings:network-ethernet
Family & Other Users: ms-settings:otherusers
Feedback: ms-settings:privacy-feedback
For Developers: ms-settings:developers
High Contrast: ms-settings:easeofaccess-highcontrast
Keyboard: ms-settings:easeofaccess-keyboard
Location: ms-settings:privacy-location
Lock screen: ms-settings:lockscreen
Magnifier: ms-settings:easeofaccess-magnifier
Manage Wi-Fi Settings: ms-settings:network-wifisettings
Messaging: ms-settings:privacy-messaging
Microphone: ms-settings:privacy-microphone
Mobile Hotspot: ms-settings:network-mobilehotspot
Motion: ms-settings:privacy-motion
Mouse & Touchpad: ms-settings:mousetouchpad
Mouse: ms-settings:easeofaccess-mouse
Narrator: ms-settings:easeofaccess-narrator
Notifications & Actions: ms-settings:notifications
Offline maps: ms-settings:maps
Optional Features: ms-settings:optionalfeatures
Other Devices: ms-settings:privacy-customdevices
Other options (Ease of Access): ms-settings:easeofaccess-otheroptions
Personalization: ms-settings:personalization
Power & Sleep: ms-settings:powersleep
Privacy: ms-settings:privacy
Proximity: ms-settings:proximity
Proxy: ms-settings:network-proxy
Radios: ms-settings:privacy-radios
Region & Language: ms-settings:regionlanguage
Sign-In Options: ms-settings:signinoptions
Speech, Inking, & Typing: ms-settings:privacy-speechtyping
Speech: ms-settings:speech
Start: ms-settings:personalization-start
Storage Sense: ms-settings:storagesense
Tablet Mode: ms-settings:tabletmode
Themes: ms-settings:themes
Typing: ms-settings:typing
VPN: ms-settings:network-vpn
Wi-Fi: ms-settings:network-wifi
Windows Update: ms-settings:windowsupdate
Work Access: ms-settings:workplace
Right click an empty space on the desktop, select NEW - SHORTCUT
Type in the setting identifier in the location box, assign a name, and you are good to go.
 

leeshor

Well-Known Member
Enable GodMode for a complete "list" of all the setting available. This can be done by creating a folder on the drive or on the desktop and name it

GodMode.{ED7BA470-8E54-465E-825C-99712043E01C}
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
how to detach surface book
how to detach surface book separate from keyboard
how to detach the screen surface book
how to develop an app for surface rt
keyboard release button not working surface book
microsoft how to detach and reattach surface book pro
surface book ready to detach after tablet detached
surface book release button red

surface book remove clipboard when sleeping

surface book separate
Top