What's new

Which one should I get?

vincentallen2

Good morning, everyone!
I have an opportunity to get an original surface book with these specs: i7 processor, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, nVidia 940M dedicated GPU
I can buy it for $1100, which is great, but the warranty is expired

Or...

I can go to Costco and get the 128gb, 8gb Ram, i5 w/Free Surface Dock for $1299. Its slightly more expensive (and lower spec'd) but at least I get a warranty and a surface dock for free

I could really use, and appreciate, your advice

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

hughlle

Super Moderator
Staff member
Hey vincent

I've no personal experience with the surface book, but as nice as the nvidia version might be, I'd personally look for one with a warranty. I say that purely because it is a device where you can't simply open it up and pop in a replacement part should something go wrong and like it or not, Microsoft do seem to have quality control issues. It's not as wide spread as forums might make it sound, but they do still exist. Only way I'd go for the non-warranty version would be if you got to sit down with it for a day, a week, and make sure for certain that absolutely everything is fine.

MickeyLittle

That is a really good deal from Cosco so if you are not doing very labor intensive stuff the I5 should be more than enough as mine is awesome and I use it with Chrome 5-7 tabs open, One Note switching between 3 notebooks with 1 of them loaded up pretty heavy, Excel, email and a couple other apps all running at the same time with no lags or bottle necking. But see what others have to say as I don't do video editing or Cad much less any gaming :)

OP
V

vincentallen2

My main usage for this would be Android/iOS app development. I'm a going to school for a C.S. Degree, and my ultimate goal is to become a mobile app developer (both iOS and Android)

Would the i5 in the surface book be able to handle Android Studio smoothly?

MickeyLittle