connected standby question

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by mmoran27, Sep 6, 2014.

  1. mmoran27

    mmoran27 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Can someone tell me why it takes so long to wake?

    I have a dell venue pro 11. It uses atom CPU and has connected standby also.
    It never takes like 3-4 seconds like the surface pro 3.
     
  2. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    3-4 seconds? Mine is instant.
     
  3. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Mine is instant as well. Press the power button or Windows button on the bezel, and the screen immediately comes on.
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,723
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    How long has been in Connected Standby? For me anything 4 hours and under is instant, over 4 its coming out of hibernation so it takes a few seconds...
     
  5. mmoran27

    mmoran27 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My dell is always instant.

    Sp3 after 4 hours takes seconds
     
  6. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    That is normal behaviour for the SP3

    Surface Pro Power States - Will hibernate after a few hours to save battery.
     
  7. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Don't forget that it only hibernates if it's not plugged in. If it is plugged in, it will stay in Connected Standby indefinitely.
     
  8. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    May be the Dell is configured to stay always in Connected Standby. The PRO 3 goes into deep sleep after 4 hours.
     
  9. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,723
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    That is by design....

    On Battery:

    0-4 hours - Connected Standby
    4-12 hours - Modified (Lite S4) Hibernate
    12+ hours - Deep Hibernation (Traditional S4 Power State)

    The SP3 uses a Core CPU, the i5 and i7 are actually using a jointly developed (by the Surface Team and Intel) SoC that uses the U variant of the CPU. The traditional U variant is not Connected Standby Capable. The i3 uses the Y variant SoC that other Haswell based Core Systems used and is Connect Standby Capable.

    Your Dell uses the ATOM, which like the ARM SoC is designed from the ground up to operate like a Smartphone or Tablet SoC with long Standby States.
     
    ctitanic likes this.
  10. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    BTW, you can tell if it's coming out of hibernation vs. connected standby pretty easily. If the former, then you'll see the Surface logo as it wakes up and you'll have to unlock. If the latter, then you won't see the logo and you'll only have to unlock if it's been long enough since it was put to sleep.
     
    ctitanic likes this.
  11. mmoran27

    mmoran27 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Why not just use connected standby all the time? Is there a way to force it?

    Core can't use that much more power in connected standby mode.
    The Dell feels faster because of this behavior.
     
  12. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,723
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Only when plugged in...

    ATOM vs. Core is huge, Bay Trail Atom is about 1 to 2.5 Watts and a Core SoC is rated at 15 Watts....

    Much of the Power Management is handled by a separate Chip and Firmware....
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

connected standby and direct access

,

connected standby direct access

,

connected standby vpn

,

force connected standby

,

force device out of connected standby

,

skype connected standby calls

,

surface pro 3 standby state

,

surface pro 3 vpn standby

,

surface standby states

,

surfacert not responding when coming out of connected standby