What's new

I have a good excuse not to buy an SP3

ProOrNo

I can't afford the i5 version, (not quite true, but I just can't bring myself to spend a twelve hundred bucks on a computer) but I could stretch to the i3. But, my current laptop is an i5 3317. That CPU has a Passmark of around 3100, the i3 in the SP3 comes in at around 2600. So there it is, I can't go backwards.

I am a programmer (retired so it's no longer a business expense) and CPU-grunt is important when test compiling about 50 times a day, so extra seconds will add up fast.

So, does anyone have some actual benchmarks on the SP3-i3 version compared with the previous generation i5 equipped laptops. Something like the Performance Rating. On this laptop adding up the five different msoft rating criteria results, I get 39.8.

Now, I really neeeeeed an SP3, so help me overcome my excuses. :)

Thanks

ctitanic

Question: does your laptop have a SSD? If it goes not I can guarantee you that you may not notice too much difference between your laptop and the i3.

OP
P

ProOrNo

Question: does your laptop have a SSD?

Yup, in fact three. :) SanDisk Ultra or Extreme or something, whatever is/was fastest. I image to them twice a week and if I have a crash/virus/bug I just need to swap the SSD out/in and I am only half a week behind. Then I make that up with the daily incremental back-ups. We all do backups? Yes?

Guess that's another reason not to buy an SP3, no SSD swapping. ;)

GreyFox7

Super Moderator
Staff member
I can't afford the i5 version, (not quite true, but I just can't bring myself to spend a twelve hundred bucks on a computer) but I could stretch to the i3. But, my current laptop is an i5 3317. That CPU has a Passmark of around 3100, the i3 in the SP3 comes in at around 2600. So there it is, I can't go backwards.

I am a programmer (retired so it's no longer a business expense) and CPU-grunt is important when test compiling about 50 times a day, so extra seconds will add up fast.