What's new

Microsoft PEN bluetooth connection issue

simon79

Hello,

I am a student and use the MS Pen the whole day long. I am using the top button to switch between the sites trough the Task View, or to use the snip & sketch tool. Its working pretty nice, but sometime I have no connection to the tablet anymore, and I need to reconnect trough bluetooth again, which is annoying very much during the class.
Is there a way to keep the Pen connected permanently?

The surface is up to date, The Pen has 77% battery life.

Thanks
Andy

sharpuser

Administrator
Staff member
Andy,

A few questions:

1 - Is this a new issue, or has the pen been disconnecting ever since you started using it, or the Surface Pro 7 ?
2 - Does it only happen during class, or does it also happen in different rooms or different venues ?
3 - Do you use the same Surface Pro 7 unit every time with the same pen ?

Your pen should not be behaving this way. I hope we can help you resolve this problem.

OP
S

simon79

Hi, thanks for support

1. Hmm I am using the pen button the first time, so I cant actually say if it was always like that, But I tried to pair it again
2. Different rooms as well
3. Yes same device, same pen

thanks

sharpuser

Administrator
Staff member
Which generation of the pen are you using? Does your pen have a clip?
Some models used two different batteries - one for the tip and one for the Bluetooth, with only one battery reporting its remaining life.

See here:

OP
S

simon79

Hi,

I have no clip, and I was told the one i am using is the latest one. Got the firmware 193.2343.371.0, and batter is 78%.
Do I really need to change this almost full battery?

thanks

sharpuser

Administrator
Staff member
Hi,

I have no clip, and I was told the one i am using is the latest one. Got the firmware 193.2343.371.0, and batter is 78%.
Do I really need to change this almost full battery?

thanks
Unlikely to be the battery, then.