What's new

Surface pro 4 screen shake, freeze, horizontal lines across the screen

tjdwn1029

This is the post I posted on Microsoft Community, and I'd like to get opinion on this forum as well.

Thank you.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi, I'm a surface pro 4 user in South Korea, and I purchased my surface pro 4(i5, 4GB RAM, SSD 128GB drive) when it got releases in my country, pre-ordered.

My first SP4 worked fine until last October when the screen shook and froze vigorously, and showed thin horizontal lines on the top of the screen.

I contacted Microsoft support and changed my SP4 with a refurbished SP4.

My second SP4 made clicking noises when the fan span and I had to get another refurbished product.

What I'm using is my THIRD SP4, and upon two months of usage it's screen is shaking and horizontal lines on the top of the screen is appearing again. Here is a YouTube link:

The first screen shake also started something like this, and got more and more intense.

As a fan of surface series and windows 10, I'm very disappointed, and irritated for time I've wasted on this problem

I treat my device with care, never dropped it, never applied shock or too much impact.

So I can't help but think this is innate defect SP4 comes out with.

Are you guys aware of the problem or know what causes this? I'd like to know.

I tried driver reinstalls, and my device is up to date(17/01/22).

Hey there.

My SP4 m3 has the same problem. I have it since last March and it has been flawless... up until two days ago when I started having the same exact issues.

I tried resetting with keeping my files cause I don't really want another fully fresh start.
It didn't work.

However since I have not mistreated it in any way and since it was working fine all this time then I want to believe that this is a software issue that will get resolved.